Thread: Is this a foul?
View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2011, 09:09am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What I can't see from the one time I watched this, is whether the Tenn player "held down" the GA player. If so, that could be a foul. But, I'll defer to the officials on the game on this.
The Tenn player definitely held down the GA player, by using his upper arm against B's shoulder.

In fact, that upper arm not only hindered B's desired movement, it was the cause of B moving backwards. B's initial jump was straight up. After the contact initiated by A, B was forced backwards a total of 3 steps. In addition, A's contact even forced B's body to the left.

Yes A got the ball legally, that is, without contact to B. But after he had control, he's still in B's vertical space, and used his upper arm which prevented B from performing any actions on his own accord.

I've got a player control foul, go to overtime.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote