Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
I do it.
Example: B scores, then drops back to A's frontcourt. A1 passes the ball in to A2 at about the FT line. A2 catches the ball, facing B's basket with his/her right foot on the floor. Then, all in one move puts left foot down, lifts right foot, pivots on left foot (to face about the sideline), pushes ball to floor to start dribble up court.
Technically: Travel.
Called: Almost never.
Now, if A2 pivoted completely arouond and put the right foot back on the floor, it's called. Or, if the same move was at the other end, and A2 used it to drive to the basket, it's called.
|
Bob,
I agree with you that is is almost never called, but would take issue as to why. Most officials or at least many officials, do not know a travel when they see them. I see many players attempt a jump stop and it is either called or not called properly because they do not see it, or understand what took place in relation to the rules. I have seen the more athletic teams in our state, do a legal jump stop and the official will call a travel when both their feet hit the floor. I have seen even when a player completes a jumpstop, and when that player pivots one of his feet, the officials call nothing. Now I agree that you should not call a violation if you are not 100% sure it took place (palming for example), but the reality is that many officials do not know a travel when it happens. Especially if an official is not used to seeing a Class AA team that is very athletic and plays the game above the rim. It was an adjustment for me, who started out with mostly Class A teams I had officiated, I know I am not the only one.
Peace