Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
JR
There are many technical violations of rules that go unenforced (3 seconds!) except when an advantage is gained by the offender. There are other violations that are strictly black and white, and some that appear to be a little of both depending on circumstance. Here, boss saw advantage was given not gained by the defense's action and chose to pass on the call. This is done in many circumstances, so it is hard to say he was wrong to do so.
|
Hawks Coach,
Sitch: 6 seconds left. You are tied and are full court pressing; opponent makes a long pass down court to only two opponents in the area. The ball is received by both players who then stumble with your player falling to the floor. Opponent grabs the loose ball and starts for the unguarded hoop. Your player kicks at and touches the ball. You say, "That's okay. Don't do it again." 
|
Mick
I can give you that call, though you may want to look more at a T if the player endangered the other player by kicking at the ball to get a stoppage. Now we are beyond the original situation and we have a player taking a strategic, but reckless, act. That requires a different response in my book.
Now take a different situation. Tie game, 4 minutes left, B1 tries his goofy defensive kick and A1 blows by B1 for lay-up. It is the only time you have ever seen this. Is it possible that you blinked and missed that attempted kick, and would only notice a recuurence of that action