View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2003, 06:09pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by tucktheump
Rich,
You are correct if the fielders had a reasonable chance to field the ball and it is determined by the umpire that the interference is intentional. (rule 8-5 k A.R.-2). But what if it is deemed unintentional, or the fielders could not have fielded the ball with a reasonable effort?

"Intent" is needed only if the runner interferes with a *fielder*, in the play at hand, the runner interfered with the *ball*.

I agree the answer depends on whether F4 or F6 could reasonably field the ball.
Reply With Quote