View Single Post
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2011, 02:27pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jfpdi View Post
recently heard this happened at a local VB game. 3 mins left in game, V team scores and calls a timeout. Coming out of timeout H team is slow, V team player steps out of bounds for the throw-in. Offical gives player the ball and he throws it in and his teammate makes an uncontested 3. As soon as the V team completed the throw-in V coach is in officials ear telling him it is not correctable. After V team makes the 3, H coach realizes what happened and is somewhat upset. Other official T's him. H team lost by 5.
Let me go on the record on this one too from a rules standpoint.

-the awarding of a throw-in to the wrong team was an is an official's error
-as soon as the official administering the throw-in gave the thrower the ball, the ball became live(rule 6-1-2b)
-the throw-in ended when a V player on the court legally touched the ball(rule 4-42-5a)
- the 3-point shot counts because it was made with a live ball ( rule 5-1-1)

Once the throw-in ended, it was too late to change anything, including giving the wrong team the ball for the throw-in(case book play 6.4.1SitD) or voiding the made 3-point shot. You administer the 2 free throws for the technical foul on the H coach and give the V the ball for the throw-in.

And if anyone disagrees with that, please cite RULES to support your stance.
Reply With Quote