View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 10, 2011, 07:01pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
You have no rules justification for that statement that I'm aware of. The ball is not dead either when you decide a "T" should be called or when you blow your whistle IF a shot is already in the air. That's NFHS rule 6-7-5 + EXCEPTION a.

If you haven't decided to call the "T" or had not blown your whistle before the ball left the shooter's hands on the 3-point attempt, you have no rules justication that I know of to then cancel the 3-point basket if it goes. The ball is live until the try is made or missed.
No one said the ball was already in the air.
SECTION 7 DEAD BALL
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
ART. 7 . . . A foul (other than player-control) occurs (see exception below)
.

The whistle only makes the ball dead when it is not preceded by something that already made it dead.

The point of the infraction is what matters, not when the official decides to blow the whistle or actually blows the whistle.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote