View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 10, 2011, 12:51pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Case book play 6.4.1SitD plainly states in the RULING "Once the throw-in ends - it is too late to change anything."

NFHS rule 6-1-2(b) says the ball was live on the throw-in when it was at the disposal of the player. By rule 6-7-1, the ball remained live until the 3-pointer was made.

Unfortunately we have no rules backing to take away that made 3-pointer. It might not be fair bit it it is correct, by rule. The officials just have to live with their screw-up.
All true, but at that point, the 3-pointer in question hasn't even been attempted yet. Sure you can't change anything (relative to that throwin), but it doesn't say you can't call something else. If you're going to call an unsporting T for the team deliberately pulling such a stunt, the team will be shooting such a dead ball. This sort of deception and trickery is, without a doubt, unsportsmanlike and is quite different than a player from team B believing it was their ball. It is no different than the barking dog play antics that the NFHS has clearly indicated is not in the spirit of the game.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Jan 10, 2011 at 12:54pm.
Reply With Quote