NCAA Ruling
I read this in the NCAA casebook the other night and found this interesting. It's a little different scenario from the OP since this is from a throw-in:
The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts
to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his/her front
court near the division line. A1’s pass is deflected by B1.
A2 leaves the playing court in his/her front court and while airborne,
controls the ball, and then lands with one or both feet on the back court.
RULING: Violation. When B1 deflected A1’s inbounds pass, his/
her legal touching caused the throw-in to end. A1, having established
front court status when he/she left Team A’s front court, gained player
and team control in the air. When A1 lands with one or both feet in his/
her backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception
to the backcourt rules are only applicable for the player who made
the initial touch on the ball.
(Rule 4-68.4 and 4-3)
|