View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 11:42pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If he is indeed an airborne shooter (he has to have released the shot), then yes, you can have a foul after the horn.
4-19-1 is your rule reference.
So...you're saying A1 cannot be an airborne shooter if he never releases the ball? Ever? Really?

Hmmm, I would have thought that beginning the habitual throwing movement would be enough to designate A1 as a shooter. I would also have thought that it is not essential that the ball leave the player’s hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

Or was what you were getting at that when airborne A1 was prevented from releasing the try it resulted in a held ball, the ball becoming dead, thus ending the try? Thus any contact would be ignored unless it was intentional or flagrant.

Yeah, that had to be it.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote