View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2000, 11:57pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Question two.
On a throw-in. Is it a violation for the ball to hit the bottom of the backboard? My search in rule and casebook tell me that it can hit the front or side of the backboard and be ok but it doesn't specifically state the bottom.


No, it is not a violation for the ball to hit the bottom of the board. It is a violation if it hits the back of the board. Sometimes it's difficult to tell if it hits the back or the bottom. My rule of thumb is that if the ball bounds back toward the baseline, it's hit the back of the board, not the bottom.

Thanks for letting me answer that one, mick.
Reply With Quote