Quote:
Originally posted by guille
Here is another situation (NCCA rules):
A1 is a post player and has the ball backing up on B1 aggressively. B1 has his forearm across A1's back trying to stop his progress to the basket. When the pushing by A1 becomes a foul and when the pushing by B1 becomes a foul?
|
Sorry, don't have my book, but this would seem to depend on whether defender has established position.
As soon as the ball goes into the post, B1 is supposed to be "hands off", including the arm-bar. Using the arm-bar to prevent an A1 post move is a foul on B1
But if B1 has position and A1 backs in, it's a PC all the way. It all depends on the timing, which can be tough, because A1/B1 will no doubt be moving a lot. Did B1 push with the arm-bar first or did A1 displace B1 first? As the vets on this board always say, "referee the defense".
NCAA, for the last few seasons, as a major point of emphasis, wants more offensive fouls called for displacing the post defender.