Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
You mean the rule that says if a player is holding the ball, they have player control?
|
Yes, which is why we grant the timeout to A1, because he has player control. Works against your argument.
Quote:
|
Doesn't that apply to any player on the court? Even a defender?
|
A defender can't have player control, as by definition, a defender is on the team that does not have the ball. Further, there's no such thing as dual player control, as you attempted to claim earlier in the thread.
Quote:
How can you call time out if a player of the other team has player control?
|
You can't. But you can grant a timeout to Coach A since A1 has player control until the held ball is whistled.
Hope that clears that up for you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Your play only says that their is GOING to be a held ball when the first whistle for a TO is blown. It sounds like that someone is anticipating the play, not describing what has occurred. Seeing that a held ball is about to occur is irrelevant. We you saying that there actually was a held ball and the official just blew the whistle really late, after the timeout whistle, or was there not really a held ball yet until after the timeout whistle. The instant that matters is the one where the defender grabs the ball, not where you anticipate a held ball.
|
You don't have to be Einstein to understand that one official whistles a timeout a split second before the second official whistles a held ball.
My question to you is are you going to go with the timeout or the held ball?
It's a real SIMPLE question. But I understand why you're playing dumb. You don't want to answer my play because it will prove my point.
Thanks, I have your answer.