Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If you replace "whistle" above with "request", does that simplify it so everybody should agree? If a legal TO request is made before the held ball is called, there is NO justification under the rules NOT to grant that TO request,
|
I'll go with "if a legal TO request is made before the held ball is [b]observed (or recognized, or whatever) by the official[b] there is no justigfication not to grant the TO request."
The point being that there might be a delay between the official seeing the held ball and getting the whistle blown.
And, just having B's hands on the ball is not a held ball. It's not held until the official judges it to be so.