Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcramer
From an earlier thread, the respected Daryl H. Long wrote "The tricky part is if the foul occurs before ball is in flight on tap or try....A1 jumps to shoot. B2 fouls A2. Because of continuation rule it does not matter if ball has been relesed or not. A1 is allowed to continue the try and the goal will be counted if successful. Play will then resume with either a throw in by A at spot nearest B2's foul or by free throws (1 and 1 or 2)."
But....I am reading from from NCAA rule Book (old copy 2003) PLAY: A1 is in possesion of ball and in the act of shooting when A2 is fouled by B2. RULING: Assess B1 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try shall count when successful. Administer the bonus free throw or award ball to Team A at designated spot...
Question: If shot is good, does A2 shoot ONE bonus free throw?
Thanks!
|
As soon as I finish this post I am emailing this thread to Daryl. There will be no living with him now. I will I ever be able to conduct one of our legendary 13 hour pre-games (he asks me a question when we leave Toledo, and I finish with my answer about the time we get to Hartford) as we drive from Toledo to Hartford, CT, for a AAU basketball tournament.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|