View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 29, 2010, 09:05pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcramer View Post
From an earlier thread, the respected Daryl H. Long wrote "The tricky part is if the foul occurs before ball is in flight on tap or try....A1 jumps to shoot. B2 fouls A2. Because of continuation rule it does not matter if ball has been relesed or not. A1 is allowed to continue the try and the goal will be counted if successful. Play will then resume with either a throw in by A at spot nearest B2's foul or by free throws (1 and 1 or 2)."

But....I am reading from from NCAA rule Book (old copy 2003) PLAY: A1 is in possesion of ball and in the act of shooting when A2 is fouled by B2. RULING: Assess B1 with the foul committed against A2. A1's try shall count when successful. Administer the bonus free throw or award ball to Team A at designated spot...

Question: If shot is good, does A2 shoot ONE bonus free throw?

Thanks!
If the shot is good, then A2 will shoot one-and-one or two shots depending on the bonus situation. If Team B is not in the penalty, Team A will have a throw in out of bounds.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote