Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
I honestly don't know how you can think that when the rule clearly says "have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness." Seems to me it's obviously talking about control of the ball.
But if you think so, then please cite the rule that says so. I've looked at 4-12 until I'm blue in the face and I can't find a thing that supports that.
If both players are holding the ball, then we have a held ball and we need to blow the whistle.
{quote]IOW...are we "rewarding" the team in control for requesting a TO before we put air in the whistle for a held ball? (BBR's view?)
|
No, we're awarding a timeout to the team that has possession of the ball.
Play:
A1 has the ball and B1 attempts to grab it. Obviously, there's going to be a held ball. The trail blows the whistle as Coach A has requested a timeout. A second later, the lead blows his whistle for a held ball.
Are you guys honestly going to tell me that you're going to ignore the first whistle and go with the second whistle?
I have a difficult time believing anyone would answer yes to that question.[/QUOTE]
+1