Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
Yes but when both ARE holding the ball...
----
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
4-25-1 A held ball occurs when opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness
No control, no TO.
The rule is addressing control of the ball, not team or player control.
Team A has player/team control and can request a timeout prior to a held ball being declared.
----
So team a has team and player control BUT B does not.
|
Once both teams get there hands on the ball, it can only be either dual player/team control or no player control for either (although team control may persist). A timeout is either no longer an option for either team or a timeout is an option for both.
(Now that I've thought about this a bit more, I'm going to flip on my reasoning but the result is the same.)
I believe neither player has control. Perhaps team control doesn't end (this doesn't really matter), but player control does end.
The rule you cited doesn't refer to which team/player is which in referring to not being able to obtain control but refers to them as opponents. It is saying that NEITHER player has control when both are holding the ball. It establishes the concept that player control exists only when a player is holding the ball alone. If you think about it, the whole point of player control is that the player is in control of the ball and is free to do what they wish with the ball (dribble, shoot, pass). And that is something they can not do if someone else is also holding it.
Once B gets their hands on the ball, player A (not necessarily team A) has lost player control and the option of a timeout is gone.
The only things that can happen next is that someone gains player control by pulling the ball free or a held ball is called.