View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 10:54am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Let's examine the Case Play

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
I've never seen or heard of an interpretation anywhere that said it's illegal to roll side to side while you're holding the ball on either your back or stomach.
I've never seen or heard of an interpretation anywhere that said it's LEGAL to roll side to side while you're holding the ball on either your back or stomach.

4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?

RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.

What can A1 not do?
He/she may not roll over.

What can A1 do?
If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up.

So the case play tells us that the ONLY thing A1 can do while holding the ball in this position is to sit up if he/she is on her back.

There's nothing that says A1 can roll over on his/her side if A1 is on his/her back or stomach.

Traveling.
Jurassic siding with NevadaRef.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Dec 20, 2010 at 11:48am.
Reply With Quote