View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2000, 08:00am
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
This situation has happned three times in a league I officiate on Sunday evening.
Can a defender legally touch a ball that has hit the backboard and is still on it's upward flight and is not in or or the ring?
Follow-up can he pin or trap any ball on the backboard under those same conditions. My search for definitive rule book or casebook has been fruitless.

Question two.
On a throw-in. Is it a violation for the ball to hit the bottom of the backboard? My search in rule and casebook tell me that it can hit the front or side of the backboard and be ok but it doesn't specifically state the bottom.
MOFFICIAL,
it's legal to block a ball on its upward flight.Rule 9.11
Its legal to trap a ball against the backboard on its upward flight. Rule 9.11
The bottom of the backboard is in bounds.Rule 7.2c

In these rules, the illegal actions are emphasized, while the many possible legal actions seem to be ignored. None of the actions which you enumerated were listed as illegal.
mick



[Edited by mick on Nov 7th, 2000 at 05:37 AM]
Reply With Quote