View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 12:18pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Controlled in this case would mean that it was the start of a dribble. This came up a couple years ago in either the case book or one of the pre-season NFHS fliers that comes with the books, might of been the OHSAA flier. Caused a big debate in our association and general consensus was that if you determine a tip or a player batting the ball back in bounds, your asking for whatever comes next.
I'm with Snaqs...confused.

By rule there's no player control on either a batt or a tipp.

Are you thinking of case book play 7.1.1SitD? In that one, the player caught the ball; he didn't batt or tip it back in-bounds.

And btw, while you're in the case book, 4.12.6(b) is the reference for answering bbcowboy's original question. Touched, tipped, batted...same, same....none establish player control.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Dec 12, 2010 at 12:24pm.
Reply With Quote