Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Your right. It doesn't state it directly. I was confusing a dunk with practicing. How foolish of me.
NFHS 2-7-4: The officials shall conduct the game in accordance with the rules. This includes: Prohibiting practice during a dead ball, except between halves.
NFHS 10-3-3: A player shall not: Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent
injury; dunk or stuff, or attempt to dunk or stuff a dead ball.
This may be a stretch:
NFHS 10-3-5: A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as:
Failing when in possession, to immediately pass the ball to the nearer
official when a whistle blows.
|
I'd 2-7-4 and 10-3-5 would suffice to cover which "rule" was being violated.
HOWEVER, in this scenario, how do we know that the nearest official wasn't standing under the basket thus the player was justified in executing the lay up?