One concern...
REPLY: Jimmy and KWH -- great work on getting everyone beginning to think about the effect of PSK on the Federation game.
Here's a concern I have...Consider this play: K, 4-8 from midfield. Punter K1 muffs the snap. While he is attempting to recover it, R12 holds gunner K10 at R's 40. K1 finally recovers the loose ball and gets the kick off. R25 catches it at R's 10 and advances to R's 25 where he is tackled.
From what I've read thus far on the NFHS web site it seems that the Federation is intending to exclude the interval between the snap and the kick from PSK consideration. Any fouls during this interval would be subject to normal loose ball play (previous spot) enforcement. Not that it matters, but this is inconsistent with the NCAA rule which includes all activity during the down up until the point the kick ends as being subject to PSK enforcement. I know we haven't seen the final wording of the rule or the case book, but it's something I'll be looking for. And if it could be worse, one piece I read says that PSK won't "kick in" (pardon the pun) until the scrimmage kick crosses the neutral zone. Try to enforce that!
__________________
Bob M.
|