Quote:
Originally posted by Smoke
High School and College. I have seen this situation once in high and once in a collage game both called diffrent.
Firts half Team A has the ball and just crosses half court when Coach of Team B calls a time out. The official blows the whistle and stops play. In the high school game they just said the official blew the call and gave the ball back to Team A. In the collage game last night after the same play the officails go to the arrow. So what is the official ruling on this type of situation??
|
I'm guessing -- and it's only a guess -- that if the officials in the college game went to the AP arrow, it's because they determined that the attempt to call the TO took place with neither team in control of the ball. (HMM I wonder if it could be that the TV announcers said they went to the AP arrrow b/c the announcers assumed that was what would happen with an inadvertant whistle, when the refs actually gave the ball to the team that was already in possession? . . . No, that would never happen, the announcers are much more careful than that . . .)