
Fri Jan 24, 2003, 02:52am
|
Small Business Owner
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
|
|
What is this an "ALL OREGON" Thread???
Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil
Great job KWH . Good explanation on all enforcements . You're making this sound simple!
Thank you. The logic of the PSK rule IS relatively simple! The NFHS may make it more difficult than it needs to be by "force fitting" it into the fundamentals of NFHS, (my opinion) but we shall see what there final version looks like! Until then I'll answer your questions and I might just put up a few "Grey Area" PSK plays of my own. But not just yet!
By the way, Mr Neil and I are both from the Great State of Oregon and there are 48 (including DC) more states that this rule change effects! The rest of you can chime in any time! While I may be in my 25th year, "WE" are all still learning!There are no dumb questions, and the only way to learn is to ask!
1. 4/5 @ K's 20-yard line. Team K is in an illegal formation at the snap. While K16's punt is in flight beyond the line, R24 blocks K88 in the back at midfield. R40 catches the kick at his 36-yard line and returns it for a touchdown.
(1) PSK Enforcment "with options"
Since R gained the ball with "Clean Hands,"* (* Clean Hands as defined under the currect version of "NFHS PSK") R can keep the ball by declining K's illegal formation foul and having R's IBB enforced from the basic spot (the PSK spot) which is the R36. Making the game situation:
1st and 10 for R (now A) at the R26
or...
(1) R can accept K's foul which means K will accept R's foul (creating a double foul) and the penalties will offset (Replay the down)
4th and 5 for K at the K20
or... (for you rules nuts)
(1) K can decline R's IBB, R would then decline K's Illegal formation,
and award R 6 points
(This 3rd option is likely only to offered in Maryland-Modified-Bantam/PeeWee-DeRock common sense football)
2. 4/10 @ K-35 Cornerback R24 holds wide receiver K86 at the line while the punt is in the air. The kick is returned by R20 for a touchdown.
(2) This is not a PSK situation...
R's foul did not occur beyond the neutral zone expanded!
Remember to qualify for PSK enforcment, R's fouls must have occurred beyond the neutral zone expanded!
Therefore this foul occured during a loose ball play and the penalty (if accepted) would be enforced from the previous spot making the game situation:
1st and 10 for K (now A) on the K45
3. 4/5 @ K-25. R31 is in position to catch K15's punt at Team R's 40-yard line, but K42 interferes. After the kick lands on Team R's 42 yard line, R22 muffs the ball at Team R's 38 yard line. R63 then holds K43 at Team R's 36-yard line to prevent him from recovering the ball. K54 recovers the ball at Team R's 39-yard line and advances for an apparent TD.
(3) This is not a PSK situation...
K had possession of the ball at the end of the play
Remember to qualify for PSK enforcment, K can not be in possession of the ball when the down ends!
Therefore this foul occured during a loose ball play and any penalties (if accepted) would be enforced from the previous spot
HOWEVER, on this particular play we have a double foul (offseting penalties), replay the down from the previous spot! Making the game situation:
4th and 5 for K at the K25
4. 4/10 @ K-9 . After the punt has crossed the NZ and is airborn R54 blocks K-2 in the back at the R35. The ball lands at the 50 and while attempting to down the ball K88 muffs it toward R goal . Before it comes to a rest the BJ toots his whistle .
(4) This is not a PSK enforcement situation...
Remember the PSK spot is the spot where the kick ends, and This kick did not end!
Rather the BJ's Inadvertant whistle shut the play down.
Therefore this foul occured during a loose ball play and any penalties (if accepted) would be enforced from the previous spot
So...
If K accepts the penalty for IBB, the 10 yard penalty will be enforced from the previous spot making the game situation:
1st and 10 for K at the K19
or...
If K declines the penalty for IBB, Rule 4-2-3a applies (also see casebook 4.2.3 SITUATION A).
INADVERTANT WHISTLE - Replay the down!
Again, the above rulings are based on 2003 rule changes which have yet to be published in their final form.
It ought to be an interesting year!
|
[Edited by KWH on Jan 24th, 2003 at 03:03 PM]
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
|