View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 11:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Thanks for the heads up. I'll misread 4-12-1. Now, I seek clarity.

This passage says, "There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor..."

If a jumper catches a jump ball, it's a violation (6-3-7c). Why would team/player control even be covered on a violation, when the ball becomes dead?
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
A/P purposes?
That's exactly right. The verbIage was added recently to clarify that this violation does not constitute player control. I believe it was actually a reversal of the old ruling, under which this violation by A1 would give B the ball and the arrow.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote