View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 05:37pm
johnsonboys03 johnsonboys03 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Question on goaltending situation

I am doing some studying and in the 2010-2011 high school basketball rules simplified and illustrated there is an example on rule 7-5-7 that is confusing me. They have Team A jumping and attempting a lay up. The ball is caught on the way down by Team B causing a goaltending. But the airborne shooter comes down on another Team B player, who has proper defensive position causing a player control foul. They are awarding the score for Team A and then giving the ball to Team B on the endline with the allowence to run the baseline.

My question is why was the goal awarded to team A. Wouldn't the player control foul eliminate it? Or is because the ball was dead on the goaltend and then the foul happens?
Reply With Quote