View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 26, 2010, 06:22pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd41flpk View Post
Tuesday, Nov 23rd - Pre-Season NIT:

VCU vs. Tennessee @ MSG.

VCU has the ball out of bounds (along their front-court) along the sideline and is attempting to inbound the ball. As the ball is thrown into the backcourt a VCU player and a Tenn player arms are tangled up. The Tenn player's elbow raises up and hits the VCU player in the face - who then goes down.

Official correctly calls a 'double-foul' However, after reviewing the play on the monitor, they then issue an intentional foul on the Tenn player.

Here is what occurred: a) no foul shots and b) play resumed @ point of interruption with VCU taking the ball out of bounds again.

Since this is a NCAA code, maybe it is different, but I would have thought that with an 'intentional' foul that it would always warrant 2-free throws and the ball? Then again, since it was a double foul, maybe its just the 2-free throws and then return to 'point of interruption'?

I am throwing this out here for rulings on both codes: 1) NCAA and 2) NFHS?

Thanks and hope everyone had a great holiday weekend.
The penalty for a double foul always calls for no free throws and the ball put in play at the point of interruption. Since the play you described above meets the definition of a double personal foul, then no free throws and POI is correct...at least that's how I read it.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Fri Nov 26, 2010 at 06:49pm. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote