Call the UIL or appropriate Texas sanctioning body and the involved officials association and ask them about the rules regarding this incident. I don't believe there is a NFHS rule for this instance.I have served as a scorekeeper at the varsity level for several years (Entering 6'th BV season and 5'th GV season)and all my officials care about is that the number of people in the book match what is on court. I always put the entire roster in the book and then write DNP next to whoever is being held out for whatever reason.
In this case the officials would've counted the book and saw one more player listed than was warming up on court.This is fine-I had a player once miss the bus but still play in the game (She showed up midway through the first quarter). She was listed on the appropriate roster I submitted to the host scorekeeper at deadline and in both books.We had no issue.Curious to see what the sanctioning body's and official's chapter response is to this incident.Keep us posted!
Last edited by SCalScoreKeeper; Sun Nov 14, 2010 at 08:39pm.
|