Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Two similar situations here - how do you personally handle?
In both, Runner on 3rd, pitch is the fourth ball, BR has just started jogging to first. R1 is a normal 3-4 step lead-off from 3rd base. Catcher calls time and starts walking to the pitcher.
If you call time when the catcher calls it, say so, the following are not relevant. Personally, I don't - the ball is live, and several teams routinely send the BR to 2nd in this situation, so I'm not going to play defense and kill it.
1) Catcher reaches the mound, still has the ball. R1 starts creeping. Do you call time?
2) Catcher reaches the mound, still has the ball. R1 turns around, still off the base, talking with coach during the apparent time out. F2 gives F1 the ball, still talking, R1 still off base. Do you call time? Do you call an out?
|
If the catcher asks for time, I grant it once all playing action has apparently stopped. So, 1) No, because playing action has not stopped. 2) Yes, all action had stopped. I don't care if R1 is off the base if it's apparent that she's back. I'm not sure there's a good rule justification for calling time with a runner off the bag but if you don't call time then I don't see how you can avoid the out in 2b.
________
milf Webcams