Thread: 7-6-6 stuff
View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 02:47pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
An officer of our local official's association reported that he had exchanged e-mails with NFHS concerning 7-6-6. This is basically what he reported:

Sitch: Team A is erroneously awarded a throw-in. Team B fouls during the throw-in. Team A is in the double bonus.

NFHS Ruling: Team A shoots the double bonus with the lane cleared. Rectify the mistake.

In rectifying the mistake, would we award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot as in 4-36-2(b) or would we award the throw-in as in 7-5? Same question if team A was not in the bonus. Award the (rectified) throw-in at the original spot or spot throw-in as in 7-5-4(a)?
Otherwise known as NFHS case book play 6.4.1SitD(b), as cited above....

The applicable rule is NFHS rule 4-36-2(b). You had a foul occur before an AP throw-in ended. Penalize the foul and then resume play at the original AP throw-in spot, but correct the AP mistake and give the AP throw-in to team B.
Reply With Quote