View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2003, 05:54pm
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by Derock1986
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
What happens if A commits a dead ball foul after we request that the chains move and before we declare the ball ready for play? YIKES! Where was the old line-to-gain??

Who cares where the old line-to-gain was. Now this is when the common sense has to kick into gear and make a ruling. A first down has been declared and the signal given. The chains are now moving but A commits a foul before the chains are reset with the new line to gain. My ruling in this situation would be to penalize A from the new line-to-gain. Eventhough the RFP signal has not been given, the new series of downs has already been awarded.


___________________________
But I'm only a youth official so what do I know.
Derock
One thing that is vitally important for understanding the rules is to use the proper language as defined in Rule 2 and the Fundamentals.

Rule 5-1-2 talks about the end of the down and 5-3-1 specifies an award of first down occurs only after all penalties have been enforced. The key phrase from Fundamental X.4 is all dead ball fouls are enforced from the succeeding spot.

It would be confusing to set the chains then have an unsportsmanlike or dead ball foul occur before the ready. But by rule they should be set a second time.

Of course, the average coach and most spectators would not understand and just maybe the "common sense" official walks off 15 yards for a first and 25. Unfortunately, the "common sense" official looks good while those who go by the rules are busy explaining to the coach why he did what he did.

But, how often would you get an unsportsmanlike or dead ball personal after the chains are set and before the ready?
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote