Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Tanner, the FED is giving us direction on how to handle these injury plays in R5-8-2NOTE. Been in there forever and hasn't changed.
1) If you think the injury is serious, kill the play immediately.
2) If not, wait to kill the play when the opponents "complete a play". And that NOTE tells you when a play is completed, by rule. It states that a play is completed when a team loses control. And a team loses control as soon as a shot leaves the shooter's hands.
Rules rulz...and we just follow 'em. And if you don't, and you let a team score a rebound basket when you should have killed the play, and you're maybe in a situation where you're being evaluated or that basket could make a difference in the game, you could find yourself lip-deep in doo-doo.
|
This will be fun to explain. I'm envisioning a 2 on 1 break B1 makes a beautiful pass to B2 who proceeds to miss the lay up. And B1 one follows up with a nice tip in (or quick put back) which we have to wave off b/c the ball became dead after the initial miss....
This will then lead to waiting for A1 to get cleared from the floor, followed by 2 FT's for Team A and the ball out of bounds for team A while A coach is now "seatbelted"