View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2003, 10:30am
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Derock1986
"There won't be any calls made in my games that will require a rule book to explain.
I will manage the game where it will be safe, fair, and entertaining for the players, coaches, and spectators."
Quote:
Orginally posted by MikeSears
Ok Derock, answer these questions from your youth ball perspective.

1. Team A INTENTIONALLY lines up with the following players all on the line of scrimmage (from left to right).

First Formation
T76 G65 C54 G66 T78 R83 R87

The QB lines up under center....

a. Is there anything illegal about the formation?
b. Who is eligible?
c. What is the call if an illegible is downfield and is first to touch the ball?
Posted by Derock
A. Looks legal to me.

Posted by Mike
Correct. Nothing Illegal about the formation

Posted by Derock
B. T76 and R87 are eligible.

Posted by Mike
Incorrect. #76 is ineligible due to his jersey number. Players must be eligible by position AND number. I realize some youth leagues have exceptions due to limited number of jerseys, but in high school, this is a foul.

Posted by Derock
C. Inelligible receiver down field. 10-yards from previous spot, replay the down (YOUTH--NFHS may be a loss of down)

Posted by Mike
Partly correct. Ineligibles that touch a pass beyond the neutral zone commit offenisve pass interference. Currently under NFHS, OPI is 15 yards and loss of down. Ineligible downfield is 5-yards with NO loss of down.


Second Formation:
T76 G65 C54 G66 T78 R83 R88 R89

The QB lines up 7 yards deep in a shotgun formation.

a. Is there anything illegal about the formation?
b. Who is eligible?

Posted by Derock
A. Formation looks legal to me.

Posted by Mike
Correct. Just because 8 players are on the line doesn't mean it is illegal. Good call.

Posted by Derock
B. T76 and R89 are eligible.

Posted by Mike
Incorrect. #76 is still ineligible. The numbering exception ONLY applies to having 5 players on the line numbers 50-79, not to who is eligible and ineligible to receive forward passes. (Again, youth leagues my offer modifications to the numbering rule).


2. K kicks to R. While the ball is bouncing towards the R's goal line, it strikes R1 in the leg and continues on its own momentum into R's endzone. R1 recovers the ball in his own endzone. What is the call?


Posted by Derock
A kick that goes to the endzone in youth is extremely rare but I'll give it a shot. Touchback. R gets the ball on their 20 yard line.

Posted by Mike
Good call. Most of the fans and coaches are going to say, "but he touched the ball". Doesn't matter unless it was a new force. I've had to explain this at the youth level once. Rulebook situation that wasn't understood by the coaches (and fans).


3. 1/10 from A-20. A32 runs the ball 20 yards to the A-40. Several seconds after the ball is dead, A78 blocks and levels B99. Please assess the penalty and state down and distance.


Posted by Derock

I have a dead ball personal foul on A78. The enforcement spot is from the end of the run, 15-yard penalty, Team A has the ball 1/10 from B-45.

Posted by Mike
I'm not sure if you are correct. -- I'm learning. Help me out on this one guys. Won't it be 2/5? A new line-to-gain is not established until all live-ball and dead-ball fouls are penalized, right?

4. Same as #3 except A32 only runs the ball 2 yards to the A-22.


Posted by Derock
Team A has the ball 1/10 from A-37.

Posted by Mike
Incorrect. 2/23 for Team A. Haste in answering may have been at fault for this one


5. :05 left in the first half. 1/10 from the A-20. A32 runs the ball 4 yards and the clock expires during the down. During the run, A78 held B99 at the A-22. What are the options here?


Posted by Derock
The defense has the option of accepting the penalty and replaying or extending the half by one down OR they can decline the penalty and the half is over. If they accept the penalty it will be 1/18 (penalized from the spot of the foul) from the A-12.

Posted by Mike
Correct. Again, you show SOME knowledge of the rules that the common fan doesn't. I'd be sure to explain to Team B (and B's coach) that the half will end if they decline the penalty.

Posted by Derock
How was that?

Posted by Mike
About average. How long have you been officiating?

Posted by Derock
Do I meet your approval as an official now?

Posted by Mike
I'm not trying to flame you. My approval means nothing. This was an only attempt to show you that officiating without thoughougly understanding the rules can lead to some interesting interpretations. Trust me, the day will come when a coach who knows the rules will call for your head on a plate for an interesting ruling made.

Posted by Derock
Can I now be an accepted member of this elite forum?

Posted by Mike
I doubt that acceptance will ever be forthcoming until the attitude improves. Every official worth his salt should be interested in learning and this is a great place to do it! Once in a great while we get fans who are just venting. Once in even a greater while, we get officials who don't care about the rules. What this forum expects is that people will come humbly here to post plays and situations and accept answers in a positive and constructive way. Most every other official here is willing to admit mistakes and learns a great deal.

Posted by Derock
Doesn't matter because I'll be on the field calling my games just like every other official here will be.

Posted by Mike
Officiating is going to be a frustrating venture until the tone changes and the willingness to learn is presented. I'd encourage you to learn from these guys. I'd hate to see what the officials at mcgriffs forum would do to you!
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote