Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie
In NCAA rules, as R3 is heading hard for home AND F2 (not setting up in the baseline) is taken into the baseline by an incoming throw from the outfield and is just about to receive the throw (not in possession of the ball), both R3 and F2 collide inadvertently with each other sending the ball over toward the 3rd base dugout, is this regarded as OBS by F2 or just a trainwreck?
In OBR it would be a trainwreck; in FED probabably OBS. How does NCAA treat such a collision?
|
The current NCAA OBS rule is similar to FED (fielder cannot block the base without the ball). This will change next year when NCAA adopts the OBR OBS rule (fielder can be in the act of fielding the ball and block the base (except on pickoff plays)).
NCAA also has a Collision Rule. The runner must be making a legitimate attempt to touch the plate (and not trying to dislodge the ball) or he is called out if he has not yet touched the plate, and can be ejected if the contact was flagrant or malicious. The NCAA will clarify this rule for next year by stipulating that contact above the waist initiated by the baserunner constitutes an attempt to dislodge the ball.