Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by cookie  "..."ALL RUNNERS" return to bases occupied before the action of the improper batter. 7-11a-2 (Note 92: "All runners" clearly implies that even runners who were out will be returned). "
 
 Forerst Ump,
 
 That would in effect mean in this situation that the two NCAA teams would have to go back to top half of the inning and resume play with 2 outs. Doesn't sound practical...
 
 Whereas, in FED, the outs would stand and you would still have 3 outs and no runs scoring (provided the appeal took place before the fielders left the field in the top half of the inning).
 | 
	
 I believe that the results are the same in all 3 codes: OBR, NCAA and FED.  Here's the FED Rule:  
"The proper batter is declared out and 
return all runners to the base occupied at the time of the pitch."  7-2-2.  
So R3 and R1 in the OP are returned to their TOP bases; 1 out.