View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 05:13pm
btaylor64 btaylor64 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
You're completely wrong by rule.

NFHS casebook play 4.15.1SitA(b)
While rebounding, A1 touches the ball while trying to gain control, after which A1 catches the ball and then pushes the ball to the floor to begin a dribble.
RULING: Legal. The dribble does not start until A1 has gained control.

Legal under NCAA rules also.

Camron gave the correct rationale.

Think of the play where A1 passes to A2 and A2 tips the ball to the floor without gaining possession and then dribbles away. A2 never established a pivot foot. Would you really call this traveling?
You are absolutely right. I apologize for being wrong!
__________________
"players must decide the outcome of the game with legal actions, not illegal actions which an official chooses to ignore."
Reply With Quote