View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 02:54pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.
Incorrect.

The REAL rule is that you can't start a dribble after lifting the pivot foot. If you've not yet established a pivot foot, you havn't lifted it.

So, an airborne player who starts a dribble has only traveled if they had previously been on the floor while in control of the ball AND had established a pivot foot (which might not always be the case). In this case, the player caught the ball in the air, then started the dribble, then landed....LEGAL.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote