Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle
Concerning 6-1-2, I am closely watching who has possession of the ball. If I sound the horn after the ball is in control of the player (happens rarely) I wave it off and mention to the table-side official inadvertant horn.
Though this clarifies more, that once the ball is in the hands of a player, no horn should sound.
Everything else listed seems to be common sense.
|
Unfortunately, that clarification has got dick-all to do with the ball being in the hands of the player. There is a big difference between a ball being at the disposal of a player versus a player holding the ball. One does not equal the other.
Further, there is no player control by rule either during a throw-in, even though the thrower may be holding the ball.
Common sense says that you should closely watch for the administering official to start a visual count on a throw-in or free throw. Once they do so, don't blow the horn.