View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 03, 2010, 07:15am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
I can't really see any other alternative under the rules than calling both runners out on this play.
I agree. As the rule is written, both should be out.

It just seems strange that on a play designed to be handled as a "force out" you can get more than one player out on a single act of touching one base.

However, by rule, the defense has no alternative since they cannot tag the runner. What would be expected, that the catcher touch the plate for one out, step off and then touch the plate a second time for the second runner?

This is a perfect example of what happens when you tinker with the rules of the game.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote