Quote:
Originally Posted by BoBo
The offense lines up with the wing back in no mans land. He is next to the tackle with a player outside of him that is clearly on the line.
He is not really on the line of scrimmage and yet is not clearly in the backfield.
Causing some confusion to the defense as to how the offense is lining up.
Is this a penalty for not aligning properly and the player being definitively either on the line or not?
Do you flag it? Does it matter if its a running play or passing play?
Please include a rule reference or case book reference please.
Whether that player is eligible or not.
|
CANADIAN RULING:
It is illegal formation to cause confusion if one is or is not on the line. Having said that, Canadians are minimalists, so we would be looking at talking to this player telling him that he needs to position himself better.
At most youth levels, an astute official recognizing the I.F. will observe B's defensive movements during the play and if they're confused, the official has the authority to throw the flag. If B is not confused (which is most likely), then the official should talk to the player as indicated above). It's more likely that B will be confused if the play is a passing play.