
Thu Jan 16, 2003, 03:51pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Ron
In the NBA, a defender must have both feet outside of that semi-circle or any contact with a shooter is an automatic blocking foul.
|
This is not really accurate. First of all, the rule only applies to a secondary defender. The offensive player's primary defender can still take a charge in the Restricted Area. Secondly, slight contact can be ignored. It is not an "automatic" blocking foul. Thirdly, if the offensive player uses an arm to "clear out" the defender, it's an offensive foul, even if the secondary defender is inside the RA. Finally, the rule only applies when the play originates outside the "lower defensive box" (an imaginary rectangle extending from the bottom of the jump circle to the baseline, and 3 feet wider than the FT lane on each side).
I know nobody really cares about the NBA rules, but if we're going to talk about them, we might as well get them right.
Also, as for the NCAA men's ruling, officially it's the same as the Fed. There's even an AR on it, stating that it should be a charge. (I can't cite it, b/c I didn't bring my rulebooks to the Carribean with me ) But obviously, it is not always called that way, especially at the D1 level.
Chuck
|
good stuff chuck, in addition to the clear out with the arm or hand, an offensive player may not lead with the foot or knee. if they do the restricted area is null and this should be called accordingly leaning towards offensive foul. when this happens it has become a "basketball play".
__________________
tony
|