Thread: Brain teaser
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 04, 2010, 12:12am
AUgrad2006 AUgrad2006 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
After reading several of the points laid out in last year's post on this topic I have to say that there is definitely a loophole the size of Mark Mangino in rule 2-29 and the Federation would be doing all a favor to clarify the wording. There are technicalities all through the rulebook and most make sense but this one seems to fly in the face of logic.

Why would it be expressly prohibited for the player to participate on the field of play but be acceptable by rule for him to participate while suspended in the air outside the field of play? It just seems to defy the spirit of the rule that an out-of-bounds player can just jump in the air and legally participate.

That being said the text of the rule is pretty clear. Touching is touching.

If it's me, you can bet that the receiver's foot sure looked like it was still on the ground or touching that nonplayer next to him or the chain equipment.

In most cases I know how I would rule, this is an exception. But I do know that I'm certainly not going to ridicule someone for having a different opinion. Jus' sayin...
__________________
I'm not getting older...these high school kids just keep getting younger and younger
Reply With Quote