Thread: rebound, pass
View Single Post
  #77 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 10:05am
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Camron - as I read back through the thread, it seems as though in the beginning we actually agreed the initial post was the start of a dribble. I'm not sure where we got off track, other than perhaps you enjoy disagreeing with me. Did I knock over your sandcastle once in a former life?

Ok, we agree the action is a dribble. We just now disagree as to whether the "start of a dribble" happens when the ball leaves the hand, or only after it hits the floor the first time. My contention, and JR's contention (post #33), is that the dribble starts when it leaves the hand, and any action thereafter must fall within the guidelines of the dribble rule. (Such as touching it twice before it hits the floor.) The phrase "to the floor" indicates a direction, not a destination.

Pretty simple question - we all know the pivot foot cannot be lifted before the dribble is started, as per 4-15-3. If, as you believe, the dribble doesn't start until after the ball has hit the floor, then how come there is no travel violation if the pivot foot is lifted in between the ball leaving the hand and hitting the floor?
4-44-3c: The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote