View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 09:36am
tibear tibear is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Proud Ignorant Coach

Situation: R1, outs don't matter. R1 stealing on the pitch and BR hits ball to F5. R1 has already reached 2nd when F5 throws the ball to first attempting to get BR, ball gets by F3 and goes into DBT.

Award R1 third and BR second. Coach comes down and asks why R1 isn't awarded home because he had reached 2nd at the time of the throw. I explain that this is a 2 base award from time of pitch because it was the first play by an infielder on a batted ball, his eyes get real wide and he clearly doesn't understand. I explain the rule once more at which point he says, "That's why you're the umpire and I just argue a lot!"
Reply With Quote