Thread: NCAA question
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 04:40pm
7IronRef 7IronRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: In a van down by the river, OK
Posts: 120
NCAA question

I am new to the site and new to college officiating.

Looking for input on the following situation, it is a casebook play (A.R.77)

Bonus is in effect; and while the ball is in flight during a try for goal, A1 charges into B1, which is Team A's 7th foul in the half. Then, there is BI by

1) B2 or ...

I am only interested in part 1) of the ruling

It seems to me that since the foul on A1 occurs after the ball has been released this is no longer a PC foul. The BI by B2 results in 2 points for A. Now, here is where I am unclear: The ruling states that B1 is going to shoot 1 and 1. Is the foul by A1 a team control foul? Or is B1 shooting FT's because there is no team control on the shot, even though A1 is an airborne shooter?

It is my understanding that we wouldn't shoot FT's on rebounding, so how is it that FT's are shot?
Reply With Quote