Thread: The beer thread
View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 04:44pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Based on the description in the OP, I took it as AtlUmp Steve did...that it was not a dropped 3K sitch.
You may also have noted, "B4" was the batter with two runners on

As stated, the batter is out. Doesn't make any difference if she was swinging or not. The batter is not eligible to advance to 1B since it was occupied at the time of the pitch.

You cannot rule that the BR interfered with a D3K since neither existed in this case.

Best case scenario, rule the ball dead as a blocked ball and return the runners if, IYJ, there was no play to be had by the catcher.

Worst case scenario, enforce 8.7.P and call the runner closest to home out (rule only requires the possibility of a play, not an out) and return the trailing runner to the base last touched at the time of the interference.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote