Thread: end of game
View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 11:40am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Just curious, so a few questions:

Would you hold up the administration of a normal FT if a player were standing outside of the 3pt line, but well below the FT line extended?

Would you ask this player to go where he belongs?

What penalty would you assess if he doesn't move?
According to NCAA rules there are 2 specific free throw administration sequences:

1. When ball is live on an unsuccessful final attempt. (typical result)

2. When the ball is to become dead after the final attempt regardless of a make/miss. (Technical, intentional fouls and when complicated by the expiration of time)

For scenario 1, we have the resumption of play procedure if the players will not line up properly. So for your scenario where a player is below 3 pt line extended, we can go ahead and call a violation. I would ask the player to move first.

For scenario 2, all the rules say is that players shall not line up along the marked lane spaces. If a player lines up and doesn't move I would cite:

Rule 10.2.5

Art. 5. A team shall not delay the game, when the game clock is not running,
by:

b. After a team warning has been issued, repeatedly delaying the game
by preventing the ball from being promptly put in play, such as
delaying the administration of a throw-in or free throw by engaging
in a team huddle anyplace on the playing court

My 2 cents.
Reply With Quote