Quote:
Originally posted by williebfree
Dealing with first situation:
NFHS 3.2.2 Situation E
Team A properly submits its team member list and designates its five starters as required at least 10 minutes before the scheduled start of the game. Anytime thereafter, either before the game starts or during the game, the coach asks the scorer to change a number in the scorebook: (a) so it corresponds to what the team member is wearing; (b) because a playerÂ’s shirt has excessive blood on it; or (c) because a playerÂ’s shirt is torn. Ruling: In (a), a technical foul is charged to Team A. In (b) and (c), the shirt is changed and the number change made in the scorebook without any penalty.
Not a T unless the new jersey is a previously "played" (another player entered game with it)... Smart coaches (oxymoron )should carry at least one extra jersey. [/B]
|
Not clear why you differentiate between a new jersey and an existing player's jersey being the replacement. This case does not specify that only the jersey with the blood on it is subject to this rule. We are changing jerseys in the book because
a player's jersey has excessive blood on it. The reason that A1 is going to wear A2's jersey is that A1 has excessive blood on his jersey.
By extension, if we switch these two back and forth the rest of the game, alerting the official each time what is being done and why, it is not clear that this is a violation of that case either.