Quote:
Originally posted by Jerry Blum
1) Boys Var, 3 minutes left in the fourth quarter of a 30-40 point game. A1(#30) comes out of a time out and I notice he has blood on his jersey, so I tell the coach that they need to take care of it. He tries to clean it off with some saline but it doesn't come off. He ask if he could switch the kids jersey to which I say that he can but if they don't have an extra and he has to switch with a player that has already been in the game it will be a T. Just looking for clarification on this I think I know but not sure.
|
Dealing with first situation:
NFHS 3.2.2 Situation E
Team A properly submits its team member list and designates its five starters as required at least 10 minutes before the scheduled start of the game. Anytime thereafter, either before the game starts or during the game, the coach asks the scorer to change a number in the scorebook: (a) so it corresponds to what the team member is wearing; (b) because a playerÂ’s shirt has excessive blood on it; or (c) because a playerÂ’s shirt is torn.
Ruling: In (a), a technical foul is charged to Team A. In (b) and (c), the shirt is changed and the number change made in the scorebook without any penalty.
Not a T unless the new jersey is a previously "played" (another player entered game with it)... Smart coaches (oxymoron

)should carry at least one extra jersey.