Quote:
Originally Posted by txtrooper
ASA Rule 4 Section 3 A, States that a DP may be used for any player provided it is made known prior to the start of the game and the player is indicated in the line-up as one of the nine in the original batting order.
Does the team Manager/Coach have to tell the PU that the DP will play defense, during the line-up card inspection, at the plate meeting? I recently worked a tournament and the UIC brought this up to me. I want to know how you all interpret this rule. I was under the impression that when the DP and FLEX were listed on the line-up that the DP was eligible to play defense, without it being said at the plate.
|
Listing the DP/FLEX on the lineup card
IS making it known prior to the start of the game. I do not need, nor expect a verbal confirmation (nor do I think the rule writers intended this) except when I hand the lineup back to the coach to make sure that it is exactly as they want it to be, all numbers, positions...etc. properly listed.
After I have reviewed the lineup cards and accepted them, making them official, I will always ask the coaches if there are any changes that they would like to make to their lineup at that time. Most coaches give me that deer in the headlights look, but once in a while I will get one that will say something along the lines of, "yes, my FLEX is going in to bat for my DP."
The purpose of the rule stating that it has to be "made known" prior to the start of the game is simple. You cannot change your mind mid game and decide that you suddenly want to use the DP/FLEX in your lineup.